E-Galley Glimpse #2

I have decided to start a new feature to focus on the e-galleys I choose to check out.  I really am not a fan of e-readers, as I prefer a cozy printed book.  However, it is a really good way to get a sneak peak into books that are not yet released to decide if they are something I would like to look into further.  It is also incredibly tedious to read an entire book on an iTouch screen!

So, this feature is intended to spotlight the galleys I peruse.  I will read 25 pages or so and judge from there whether I will choose to:  Buy, borrow, add to the wishlist, forget about, or delete and never look back.

So here it goes:

15841929The Rose Thorn by Mette Ivie Harrison

Expected publication:  May 14, 2013

Publisher: EgmontUSA

Genre:  YA Fantasy

Source:  NetGalley

Cover blurb:  Richly-imagined fantasy romance from the author of ‘Princess and the Hound’, a tale of two princesses–one with magic, one with none–who dare seek love in a world where real choice can never be theirs.  For fans of Megan Whalen Turner, Catherine Fisher, and Cassandra Clare.

Ailsbet loves nothing more than music; tall and red-haired, she’s impatient with the artifice and ceremony of her father’s court. Marissa adores the world of her island home and feels she has much to offer when she finally inherits the throne from her wise, good-tempered father.  The trouble is that neither princess has the power–or the magic–to rule alone, and if the kingdoms can be united, which princess will end up ruling the joint land?  For both, the only goal would seem to be a strategic marriage to a man who can bring his own brand of power to the throne.  But will either girl be able to marry for love?  And can either of these two princesses, rivals though they have never met, afford to let the other live?

My quick take:  I think this one has a lot of potential, but it seems a bit slow at getting things going.  I find it interesting that the princess with no magic abilities is seen as less desirable by everyone, giving the world an interesting twist.  The author really likes to be descriptive, and it seems to pull me out of the story at times.  I do think there is something magical and perhaps more intriguing to be found in this story, but I am not sure about the flow and pace of the writing.

The Verdict:  Check it out from the library/borrow

____________________________________________________________________________________

Gameboard of the Gods by Rachel Mead13477883

Publication date:  June 4, 2013

Publisher:  Dutton Adult

Genre:  Urban Fantasy/Sci-Fi

Source:  NetGalley

Cover blurb:  In a futuristic world nearly destroyed by religious extremists, Justin March lives in exile after failing in his job as an investigator of religious groups and supernatural claims.  But Justin is given a second chance when Mae Koskinen comes to bring him back to the Republic of United North America (RUNA).  Raised in an aristocratic caste, Mae is now a member of the military’s most elite and terrifying tier, a soldier with enhanced reflexes and skills.

When Justin and Mae are assigned to work together to solve a string of ritualistic murders, they soon realize that their discoveries have exposed them to terrible danger.  As their investigation races forward, unknown enemies and powers greater than they can imagine are gathering in the shadows, ready to reclaim the world in which humans are merely game pieces on their board.

Gameboard of the Gods, the first installment of Richelle Mead’s Age of X series, will have all the elements that have made her YA Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series such megasuccesses: sexy, irresistible characters; romantic and mythological intrigue; and relentless action and suspense.

My quick take:  It was all I could do to make it through 25 pages of this.  It was a tedious event of being bombarded with random made up words for things, places, people, etc. that are not very well explained.  In other words, the worldbuilding was pretty nonexistent, which is just never a good thing when one is trying to create a new vocabulary and events that rely on, well, building an unfamiliar world.  Aside from that, the writing was on the formulaic side for me, which a lot of adult urban fantasy falls into.  So, although I was looking forward to a new series from Mead, I am not sold on this one.

The Verdict:  Delete and move on

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s