‘Triangles’ by Ellen Hopkins

Triangles10843755

by Ellen Hopkins

Atria Books

529 pages

Pub. Date:   October 18, 2011

Book received from:  Purchased

_____________________________________

Genre:  Adult Contemporary Fiction

Cover:  Absolutely gorgeous, and really sets the mood for me.

Characters:  Pretty unlikable for the most part

For Fans Of:  Jodi Picoult &  Parenthood (TV series)

Rating:  3 out of 5 stars

Worth the read?  Maybe- if you are more inclined to connect with characters in midlife crisis type situations

The Short & Sweet of It:  I have never read any of Hopkins work, although I have a few on my shelves I have acquired from various sources.  Triangles is her first endeavor into the adult realm, as she is known for her edgy YA novels.  What drew me to read this is her prose-style writing, which delivers a story in such a different narrative form than I have read before.  In short, her writing style is unique, beautiful, flowing, and powerful.  It really was easy to become immersed in the story, and became difficult to put down.

However, the story itself fell short for me.  That is, the characters were all very unlikable to me.  Perhaps this is largely because I have not yet reached middle age, and thus do not connect with the perspectives.  The story follows the connections of three forty-ish women who are at differing crossroads within their lives, and are faced with making decisions for which they may have to deal with troubling consequences. Although, each character was given depth, motive, and an understanding as to why they made the decisions they did, I still do not think I can ever really understand situations of adultery and dishonesty within marriage.  And, I have to say, I am quite alright with this.

Regardless of my lack of compassion and forgiveness for the characters, Triangles was a book that I am glad I read, if only to introduce me to Hopkins.  I will definitely be pulling  her other works from my shelves in the near future.

For more info & to purchase:

Author Site

Amazon

GoodReads

Leave a Reply

