Book Tour: ‘The Flight of Gemma Hardy’ by Margot Livesey

The Flight of Gemma Hardy

by Margot Livesey

Harper Perrenial

Pub. Date:   June 26, 2012

Book received from: Publisher via TLC Book Tours

__________________________________

 

There is rarely a book that I do not have much to say about.  However, there are times when a book does not leave one with much of an impression, or nothing much to add.  This is one of those times.  The Flight of Gemma Hardy is a good book.  That being said, I have read the story before.  It is called Jane Eyre.

When I was reading rave reviews of this book, I was excited to read a retelling of such an iconic story.  That is, I thought ‘retelling’ would not be quite so literal.  Most often ‘retellings’ take a certain amount of artistic liberty in the re-imagining of the original story.  Livesey does not seem to do any such changes, except in placing the character in a different era and changing her name.  Otherwise, I felt as though I was being told a story that pales in comparison to Bronte’s.

All in all, The Flight of Gemma Hardy was a good read, and some readers may connect with the character more than her original counterpart.  For me, I suppose I am a partial to Jane Eyre, and will stick to the original until a true retelling comes along that plays with the story a bit more and takes a few more liberties in imagining who Jane would be outside of her time.  I am, by all means, in the minority of not finding the magic in this book, so perhaps it is simply that I did not connect with Livesey’s writing style.  If you love Jane Eyre, you will want to pick this one up to add to your collection.

 

Check out the entire blog tour calendar.

‘The Flight of Gemma Hardy’ can be purchased at Amazon.com, as well as your local independent bookseller.

For more about Margot Livesey, go to her website here.

2 thoughts on “Book Tour: ‘The Flight of Gemma Hardy’ by Margot Livesey

  1. Hmmm. I didn’t think this was a literal retelling at all. Without mentioning anything that may be taken as spoilers to your readers, I’ll just say that I found Gemma to be a much more interesting character than Jane.

Leave a Reply

