Book Tour & GIVEAWAY: ‘The Sixes’ by Kate White

The Sixes

by Kate White

Harper Collins

Pub. Date:   June 5, 2012

Book received from: Publisher via TLC Book Tours

______________________________________

What happens when you take a scandalized writer, a secret society of girls, and a string of murdered students and put them all together on a small college campus?  It could result in a disastrous cliché.  However, if you are Kate White, a riveting mystery with plenty of suspects culminating in a page-turning mystery is created.  Once you read the first chapter, mystery fans will not be able to put this one down.  With twists and turns around every page, it is, at times, like many other mysteries.  Somehow, though, White manages to keep things fresh with an easy-to-like and sassy leading lady.

The only thing I found a bit disappointing at times was the over use of stereotypes.  Specifically, the portrayal of the hippy-dippy, disapproving of the urban woman, patchouli-burning Women’s Studies professor.  It was the characterizations such as this that kept this book from breaking out of the box and delivering something entirely new and different.

However, regardless of the slight stereotyping, White sure knows how to deliver a mystery that will keep us turning the pages to find out who-dunnit and why.  There is an easy flow to her writing that allows the reader to become completely immersed in the happenings of the story, while making it difficult to trust any of the characters along the way.  There is a certain freshness and edginess that makes The Sixes read like chicklit, but is firmly planted in the mystery at hand.  The leading lady is sensible and firmly planted in the reality of the book.  Never once does it seem as though she  is about to strap on her Manolos before she gets to sleuthing.

The Sixes is a great work to remind us what fun mysteries are, even though the subject matter is darker in nature.  In a market full of other genres, it takes a gutsy woman to stand out- and Kate White-  editor-in-chief of Cosmopolitan magazine-  does just that.  I know that I, for one, am going to go in search of more from this author.  She provides a fun, heart-racing journey from start to finish- and I did not want it to end.

********************************************************

Harper Collins has generously offered a copy of ‘The Sixes’ for one lucky reader.  To be entered, simply comment below & tell me the name and author of the last mystery you read- and if you would recommend it, with your e-mail address in the comment.  
Must be at least 13-years-old and live in the US/CAN.  I will pick a winner by random June 16, 2012.

 *********************************************************

Check out the entire blog tour calendar.

‘The Sixes’  can be purchased at Amazon.com, as well as your local independent bookseller.

For more about Kate White, go to her website here.

11 thoughts on “Book Tour & GIVEAWAY: ‘The Sixes’ by Kate White

  1. This book sounds great! Thanks for the giveaway! The last mystery I read was Dark Places by Gillian Flynn and I would definitely recommend it.

    stephward84(at)hotmail(dot)com

  2. I have not ever read a mystery… how sad is that? I am really trying to broaden my reading horizons this year and im looking for just the right one. Sixes looks like it would be really good!
    megnate at telus dot net

    • At least you will admit to never reading one! I am glad to hear that you are willing to explore different kinds of books, though. ‘The Sixes’ is a great place to start, b/c it blends mystery with just enough contemporary fiction and chicklit. Thanks for reading!

      • I must say that the fact that its blended with chick lit definately caught my attention. I think your right, I think that it would be a good place to start.

  3. Wow, sounds like a good one. The last mystery I read, which I think is a mystery because I was kept guessing until the end, was Jennifer McMahon’s Don’t Breathe a Word. I thought it was scary and suspenseful at the same time.

  4. I can’t recall that I’ve actually read any specific mysteries. They all have a hint of mystery to them but they’re not categorized AS mysteries. But hmmm, a good one that comes to mind is Defending Jacob. It’s more a crime novel but I could NOT put it down! It was excellent. Thanks for this giveaway, I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while!

    compelledbywords@live.com

  5. Pingback: Life in Review: “The Sixes” by Kate White « Life In Review

  6. I think Defending Jacob was the last mystery I read. I had heard so many good things so I decided to pick it up one day, it definitely did not disappoint I would highly recommend it! Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

    londonjudge@verizon.net

Leave a Reply

