Simply Great Breads

Simply Great Breads: Sweet & Savory Treats From America’s Premier Artisan Baker

by Daniel Leader

Taunton Press

Pub. Date: March 8, 2011

I love great fresh-baked bread.  I often wish my local bakery had not gone out of business, because, as we all know, it is so much easier to have someone else do the baking for us.  However, due to the unfortunate circumstances of the recent closure of the bakery, I have found my self back in the kitchen baking once again- and I love it!  But, making the same bread over and over gets a little boring, so, needless to say, I was delighted to discover Simply Great Breads.

Now, mind you, I enjoy baking bread and rolls and such, but I am not a patient person in the kitchen.  I like things simple to make and not too demanding in skill.  This book is perfect for those like me, as well as those who are gifted in the baking arena.  Leader has managed to provide a cookbook that is informative and straight-forward, explaining what to expect out of every recipe before you start and using simple, easy-to-find ingredients.  He also supplies variations on the original recipe, such as how to add chocolate to your cinnamon rolls and not ruin them in the process.

Simply Great Breads is full of recipes for basic breads, bagels, english muffins, brioche, and everything in between.  It is an easy-to-use source for those who have made the items before, as well as those have previously been too afraid to try their hand at them.  It is certainly the book I have needed in order to add more interest to my baking, and there are so many recipes and ideas that I will have no excuse to be bored with my bread-making for a long while.

For purchase visit Amazon.com or your local independent bookseller.

To find out more about Daniel Leader, visit his Bread Alone Bakery site here.

2 thoughts on “Simply Great Breads

  1. These breads sound delicious! I love fresh baked bread- but there just aren’t enough bakeries near me! I guess I may have to resort to cooking my own. 🙂

    I found you through Book Blogs and signed up to follow you. When you have a chance- please stop by and follow the blog for my middle grade novel that I am hoping to get published. http://thesecretdmsfilesoffairdaymorrow.blogspot.com/
    Also, my co-author, Stephanie, liked your fb page today. Please like us back at: http://www.facebook.com/fairday

    Take care-
    Jess- although I may show up as Fairday, the main character from my novel. I can’t figure out how to fix it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

